Eco fashion

Ethical and Sustainable Fashion
In the last 20 years, clothing has become much cheaper and more affordable. Once upon a time there were only two seasons in the fashion world and brands released two major collections a year. And today fast fashion produces new items every week, once a micro-season, 52 times a year. Manufacturers strive to transfer fashion trends from shows to stores as quickly as possible, and do this through the use of cheap, non-environmentally friendly fabrics and low wages for workers in garment factories. To make room for a new collection, they quickly sell the previous ones. In order to achieve that, marketers lure buyers with discounts and promotions, loyalty programs and special conditions.
The market is overwhelmed with a huge amount of identical synthetic cheap clothing that clutters the shelves of shops and wardrobes of buyers. The consumer is oversaturated, but continues to fall for advertising gimmicks and buy up “the most important novelties of the season, without which the image in the mirror will not be complete”. Fast Fashion is a model in which there will never be “enough”. Fashionable enough. Stylish enough. Nice enough. There will always be something missing. What is at its peak today will be a hopelessly outdated style tomorrow.
This approach leads to the fact that more than half of the purchased items are not needed by the consumer and end up in a landfill within a year. Every fifth garment thrown out is completely new - because it is disliked, it doesn't fit into the wardrobe or there is nothing to wear with it. Every second, as much textile waste is buried or burned on our planet that would fit one large truck. Today this volume is 92 million tons annually. In another ten years, it will increase to 134 million tons. The fast fashion industry is driven by a make-sell-throw-away principle.
Fast fashion consequences:
  1. Mass overconsumption
    • The volume of purchased clothing has increased by 100% compared to 1990;
    • For 15 years, the period of use of one item has been reduced by 5 times;
    • On average, only 7 times a person wears one item from their wardrobe, and many do not wear it at all;
    • 150 billion pieces of clothing are produced annually.



    1. Environmental pollution and waste of natural resources

    10% of all greenhouse gases are generated by the fashion industry.

    70,000,000 trees are cut down annually for the production of fabrics.

    Only 10% of things are recycled, 90% are thrown away.

    3000 liters of water is used to produce one cotton T-shirt.

    It takes from 80 years to 200 years for a T-shirt to decompose in a landfill.

    It takes 7000 liters of water to make a pair of jeans.

    Every year, when washing clothes, 500 thousand tons of microfibers enter the ocean, which can be compared to 50 billion plastic bottles.

  1. Slavery in the modern world.
  2. 98% of all clothing is produced in countries in transition with low-wage or even slave labor.

    2 $ is the wage per day for a factory worker in such countries.

    The seamstresses work without workers rights in unsanitary conditions.

    Children are involved in manufacturing.


    Fast Fashion is harmful to both the environment and humans. Therefore, more and more conscious consumers are demanding a change in the principles of the fashion industry, and more brands are looking for alternative production options.


    Fashion is heading towards responsibility and safety.

    Fashion is becoming sustainable.

What is Conscious Fashion?

The production of clothing, footwear, accessories is safe (or with minimal harm) for the environment, with respect for human labor, with the prospect of extending the life cycle of things even after their intended use.

The production uses renewable resources, and the amount of hazardous waste is significantly reduced.

It is the social responsibility of brands to employees and customers, and customers to the planet. Brands that support the new fashion model: are versed in the production of fabrics: they check certificates, look for responsible suppliers, investigate the details. are constantly looking for ways to reduce the carbon footprint from production and always make a choice in favor of the environment; take responsibility for the people they work with; they combine style and safety: eco-fashion is not a beautiful or safe choice, eco-friendly clothes should be stylish, comfortable, and harmless; are open and transparent to the buyer and show all stages of production.

3 questions from the conscious consumer:

Who, how, in what conditions produced the clothes that they are going to buy.


Who?

  • What is the manufacturer's environmental position?
  • Does the company help the development of environmental initiatives in the region and in the world and is it engaged in environmental education?
  • Does it protect the environment?
  • How close is the production to the place of purchase?


How?

  • What are the materials?
  • Was the environment harmed during production?
  • What environmental principles did the manufacturer adhere to?
  • Logistics - how long is the “transport leg” when transporting materials and goods?
  • Is it possible to further recycle the product and packaging?


Under what conditions?

  • Do employees have regular working hours?
  • What are the conditions of the factory and equipment?
  • Was low paid or child labor used?
  • What kind of production is the thing created: energy efficient or not?


An honest manufacturer with a transparent policy openly provides this information.

The benefits for a sustainable fashion model
Reducing the carbon footprint of production; Minimal damage to the environment; Reduction of wasted natural resources; Protection of animals and birds; Conservation of forests and oceans; Air and water purification; Reducing the amount of plastic on the planet; Supporting the well-being of people; Comfortable working conditions; Official and decent wages; Gender equality; Respect for the work of every worker in the fashion industry.
Less money is spent on buying clothes, choosing in favor of high-quality, relevant and durable things.
Own unique style - low likelihood of meeting a person who is similarly dressed.

A minimalist wardrobe, in which things are combined with each other, there is nothing superfluous and there is always “something to wear”.
There is no dependence on imposed advertising campaigns - you make your choice, not obeying the decisions of marketers.
The value of each item increases.
The risk of allergy to low-quality fabrics is lower, you feel much better in clothes made from eco-friendly materials.
A sense of satisfaction that you are making a contribution to the salvation of the planet.

You support a healthy economy with a transparent tax system.
You help develop local brands and support emerging talent in the fashion world.
Sustainable fashion principles
Sustainable fashion - smart production and consumption.

Reasonable production: ejection of any environmental pollution at all stages of production; reducing the amount of garbage and textile waste; transition to waste-free cut; the use of environmentally friendly fabrics; reduction of carbon dioxide emissions into the atmosphere; fight against overproduction; competent logistics; caring for the biological diversity of the planet; observance of workers' rights and decent wages.
Reasonable consumption: rejection of mass-produced clothing; buying less clothes; purchase of goods manufactured in accordance with the rules of fair trade; support of local producers; an assessment of the environmental risks from each item that is planned to be purchased buying used or vintage clothing; choice of ethical clothing made from environmentally friendly fabrics; second life of everything. Eco-friendly fashion is based on the conscientiousness of all participants in the process: both the manufacturer and the consumer.
Leave your mark on history,
not a carbon footprint

Экологичная и этичная мода

Этичная и Экологичная мода
В последние 20 лет одежда стала намного дешевле и доступнее. Раньше бренды выпускали по две главные, приуроченные к двум сезонам, коллекции в год. Сейчас же бренды fast fashion выпускают коллекции каждую неделю, раз в микро-сезон - 52 в год. Производители стремятся максимально быстро перенести модные тенденции с показов в магазины и делают это за счет использования дешевых неэкологичных тканей и низкой оплаты труда работников швейных фабрик. Чтобы освободить место для новой коллекции, нужно сразу же продавать предыдущую - для этого маркетологи заманивают покупателей скидками и акциями, программами лояльности и специальными условиями.
Рынок переполнен огромным количеством одинаковой синтетической дешевой одежды, захламляя полки магазинов и гардеробы покупателей. Потребитель перенасытился, но продолжает вестись на рекламные уловки и скупать “самые главные новинки сезона, без которых образ не будет полным”. Fast Fashion - модель, в которой никогда не будет “достаточно”. Достаточно модно. Достаточно стильно. Достаточно красиво. Всегда будет чего-то не хватать. То, что сегодня на пике - завтра будет уже устаревшим фасоном.
Такой подход приводит к тому, что более половины купленных вещей не нужны потребителю и оказываются на свалке через год. Каждую пятую вещь выкидывают абсолютно новой - потому что не нравится, не украшает, не вписывается в гардероб или просто надоела. Каждую секунду на планете закапывают или сжигают столько текстильных отходов, сколько вместилось бы в один большой грузовик. Сегодня этот объем составляет 92 миллиона тонн ежегодно. Еще через десять лет он увеличится до 134 миллионов тонн. Индустрия быстрой моды нацелена на принцип “произвести-продать-выбросить”.
Последствия быстрой моды:
  1. Массовое перепотребление
    • на 100% увеличился объем покупаемой одежды по сравнению с 1990 годом;
    • за 15 лет срок использования одной вещи сократился в 5 раз;
    • всего 7 раз человек носит одну вещь из своего гардероба, а многие не надевает вообще ни разу;
    • 150 миллиардов единиц одежды производится ежегодно.



    1. Загрязнение окружающей среды и растрата природных ресурсов.

    10% от всего объема парниковых газов производит индустрия моды.

    Ежегодно для производства тканей вырубается 70 000 000 деревьев.

    Только 10% вещей перерабатываются, 90 - выкидываются.

    3000 литров воды уходит на производство одной футболки из хлопка.

    80 лет футболка будет разлагаться на полигоне отходов.

    На производство пары джинсов уходит 7000 литров воды. 

    Ежегодно при стирке одежды в океан попадает 500 тысяч тонн микроволокон, это можно сравнить с 50 миллиардами пластиковых бутылок.

  1. Рабство в современной мире.
  2. 98% всей одежды производится в странах с переходной экономикой с низкооплачиваемым трудом или даже рабским трудом.

    2 доллара - зарплата за день работника фабрики в таких странах.

    Швеи работают без соблюдения режима труда в антисанитарных условиях.

    К работе на фабриках привлекаются дети.


    Fast Fashion вредит как экологии, так и человеку. Поэтому все больше осознанных потребителей требуют изменения принципов модной индустрии, и все больше брендов ищут альтернативные варианты производства.


    Мода берет курс на ответственность и безопасность.

    Мода становится экологичной.

Что такое осознанная мода?

Производство одежды, обуви, аксессуаров безопасно (или с минимальным вредом) для окружающей среды, с уважением к человеческому труду, с перспективой продления жизненного цикла вещей даже после использования по назначению.

Это производство, при котором используются возобновляемые ресурсы, а количество вредных отходов снижается в разы. Это социальная ответственность брендов перед перед работниками и покупателями, а покупателей - перед планетой.

Бренды, которые поддерживают новую модель моды: разбираются в производстве тканей: проверяют сертификаты, ищут ответственных поставщиков, исследуют детали. постоянно ищут способы снизить углеродный след от производства и всегда делают выбор в пользу окружающей среды; берут ответственность за людей, с которыми сотрудничают; объединяют стиль и безопасность: экомода - не выбор красиво или безопасно, экологичная одежда должна быть и стильной, и удобной, и безвредной; открыты и прозрачны перед покупателем и показывают все этапы производства.

3 вопроса осознанного потребителя:

Кто, как, в каких условиях произвел одежду, которую он собирается купить.


Кто. 

  • Какова экологическая позиция производителя. 
  • Помогает ли компания развитию экологических инициатив в регионе и в мире, занимается ли экопросвещением. 
  • Защищает ли окружающую среду. 
  • Насколько близко производство от места покупки.


Как. 

  • Из каких материалов.
  • Был ли нанесен вред окружающей среде при производстве.
  • Каких экологических принципов придерживался производитель.
  • Логистика - насколько большое транспортное плечо при перевозке материалов и товара
  • Возможна ли дальнейшая переработка товара и упаковки.


В каких условиях. 

  • Нормированный ли рабочий день у сотрудников.
  • В каких условиях содержится фабрика и оборудование.
  • Не использовался ли низкооплачиваемый или детский труд.
  • На каком производстве создана вещь: энергоэффективном или нет.


Честный производитель с прозрачной политикой открыто предоставляет эту информацию.

Преимущества перехода на модель экологичной моды
Снижается углеродный след от производства. Наносится меньший ущерб окружающей среде Тратится меньше природных ресурсов. Животные и птицы находятся в безопасности. Сохраняются леса и океан. Очищаются воздух и вода. Снижается количество пластика на планете. Поддерживается благополучие людей. Создаются комфортные условия труда. Соблюдается официальная и достойная оплата труда. Поддерживается гендерное равенство. Уважается труд каждого работника модной индустрии.
Тратится меньше средств на одежду, при этом вещи приобретаются качественные, актуальные и долговечные.
Создается неповторимый стиль - низкая вероятность встретить так же одетого человека.

Формируется качественный минималистичный гардероб, в котором вещи сочетаются между собой, нет ничего лишнего и всегда “есть, что надеть”.
Снимается зависимость от навязанных рекламных кампаний - человек делает свой выбор, не подчиняясь решениям маркетологов.
Повышается ценность каждой вещи.
Снижается риск аллергии на некачественные ткани, человек чувствует себя гораздо лучше в одежде из экологичных материалов.
Появляется чувство удовлетворения от того, что делаешь посильный вклад в спасение планеты.

Поддерживается здоровая экономика с прозрачной системой налогов.
Развиваются локальные бренды, раскрываются новые таланты в мире моды.
Принципы экологичной моды
Экологичная мода - разумное производство и потребление.

Разумное производство: отказ от любого загрязнения окружающей среды на всех этапах производства; уменьшение количества мусора и текстильных отходов; переход на безотходный крой; использование экологичных тканей; сокращение выбросов углекислого газа в атмосферу; борьба с перепроизводством; грамотная логистика; забота о биологическом разнообразии на планете; соблюдение прав рабочих и достойная оплата труда.
Разумное потребление: отказ от одежды массового производства; покупка меньшего количества одежды; покупка товаров, произведенных в соответствии с правилами справедливой торговли; поддержка местных производителей; оценка рисков для окружающей среды от каждой вещи, которую планируется приобрести покупка подержанной или винтажной одежды; выбор одежды, произведенной с соблюдением этических норм и из экологически чистых тканей; вторая жизнь каждой вещи. Экологичная мода основана на сознательности всех участников процесса: как производителя, так и потребителя.
Оставь свой след в истории,
а не углеродный след